The Hunt for the Wedding Lehenga

I always had this secret doubt about wedding lehenga shopping: that I would not fall in love with a lehenga, and would have to compromise on what I would be wearing at the wedding.

Thankfully, thankfully, I now know what it is like to fall in love with your wedding lehenga!

I would like to thank peachesandblush and thedelhibride, through whom I came to know of Om Prakash Jawahar Lal in Chandni Chowk.

So how does one fall in love with a lehenga? It is a mixture of love at first sight and love at first trial. When we sat upstairs in the shop on the white cotton mattresses, there were heaps of lehengas lying all around – and they were all awesome. I had a huge grin on my face because I just knew that something WILL click here. Before here, and after as well, I had seen other lehengas – all the same: net with zari or stonework with satin or something similar underneath. Blah!

I also had reservations with the colour red. First of all – too common; second – I felt like a red lehenga would age me. Shades of pink suit me and “my” colour has always been fuchsia, so it was expected that the heaps of pink would catch my eye.  I remember excitedly looking around and I couldn’t wait to have all these awesome lehengas shown to me.

Finally we were settled, and the lehengas were brought out. Out of the ones that were shown to me, I selected about 5 that were put aside, which were then draped on me by the shop assistants. The first one I had chosen turned out to be extremely heavy, and so I put that aside. The other few were good but not great, and so I sat back down.

There was this one particular lehenga that I had glanced over but not selected. My Mom asked for that to be shown. In the meantime, I spied this gorgeous chunni in a very unique colour sitting in a heap and so I asked for that. It turned out that the chunni was for the lehenga that my Mom had asked for. When it was draped on me, it looked awesome! But due to the unique colour of the chunni, it did not look bridal. The problem was solved by the double dupatta drape – bridal colour on head, and the splash of colour on my shoulder. I had secretly wanted a double dupatta lehenga, so it all fit right into place and when the draping was completed on me, I beamed – here was my very unique, very pretty lehenga I was looking for: I had finally found it!

After falling in love with the piece, we actually left without ordering it because I felt like I hadn’t seen enough options. However, your first love always has a special place in your heart. I did look around some more, but the uniqueness of that lehenga was unmatched, and so I went back after 5 days to order it.

I almost had a heart attack when I was told that I was too late to order it now and that their workers would not be able to complete it on time. However, the shop owner soon persuaded them, and my lehenga delivery date is now set for 3 days before the wedding. We are cutting it really close at this point, but that’s what happens when you walk in to order your bridal lehenga less than a month before the wedding.

I can’t wait to pick up the lehenga and say “Welcome home!”

27 thoughts on “The Hunt for the Wedding Lehenga

  1. Hey…am so glad you found your lehenga at OPJL… Mine is supposed to be delivered from there in a few days…
    Just one thing, have you told them that they must stitch up your choli? Usually they give the unstitched choli and the stitching of that choli has to be organised by the bride, and 3 days may not be enough time for that. If this point is not clarified, you must hunt them down and pester them to get the choli stitched or to give the choli material to you much earlier- its critical!
    If that choli point is already sorted with OPJL, then great, your lehenga is sorted! 🙂

  2. Thats great- I have heard Eve’s Tailor at GK1 M Block market is the best in town- I don’t know if they stitch at short notice- maybe you could meet them earlier and keep them prepped that as soon as the material reaches on 10th, they should start stitching and give it to you in 3/4 days…
    I plan to check out Eve’s tailor one of these days, otherwise I have got the designer at Aumbre (Hauz Khas Village) fixed up as the alternative – she is making several suits/dresses for me and so she has promised she will stitch up my bridal choli though she doesn’t stitch up just choli for people generally. If you wish, I will speak to her so that she can be your back up plan… Pls dont hesitate to let me know!

    • Hey!! Congrats! I have heard lots about Om Prakash Jawahar Lal though I must admit, despite being a Delhi girl, the idea of visiting CC completely freaked me out and I could not get myself to go there. Managed to find everything at Lajpat. My bridal lehenga is from Ritu Kumar and the wedding is mid dec so they’ve asked me to come in early dec for finishing and trials. You could go to Eves of course and try out your luck, heard good things about them (their blouses are supposed to be awesome) and bad things(the wait etc). Aumbre is a great option! Got my Mehendi/Sangeet Lehenga from them and they were really helpful!
      If not, try Shahpur Jat tailors!

    • CC is a world into itself, and I agree you need a lot of courage and stamina to go down there, and to not lose yourself in the narrow lanes. The only thing I like is the sheer history. Walking around there was a bit touristy for me, and I was imagining it in another time with the Maharajas’ walking the streets :p
      But coming back to reality – you’re right, it’s a maze!!
      I’ll try Eve’s – I’ve heard a lot about it! Let’s see if they can do it.
      P.S – congrats o finding your “the” lehenga 🙂

    • Awww thanks so much for looking out for me!!! Much, much appreciated! I would love to get the blouse stitched at Aumbre – however, that will be too far me to travel, and I really don’t want to go further than Lajpat, or GK at the most. I think I’ll stop by Eve’s tomorrow and check if my blouse can be stitched on such short notice.

      • I need to go to Eve’s today for a trial which I have been procrastinating for long, would check out with them and let you know if they could take on this extra blouse for an ‘express delivery!’ If not, you could maybe smuggle your one blouse inside along with my heap, or act like my sister or something! 😉

      • Omg that is the best thing ever!!! Thank you so very much Aanchal!!! Please please ask them about the express delivery – and I have no issues being your sister either :p
        Please let me know what they say… Thanks so much- ur such a lifesaver!

      • Hey, the tailor at Eves whom I gave my blouse to has been on leave for the past few days, so I didn’t go today. Thankfully I had checked his availability on the phone, phew! Will let you know as soon as I manage to catch him myself, hope it won’t be too late for you. Else if you manage to squeeze in some time, you could try dropping in there and checking with their other tailor.

  3. And if you can get OPJL to stitch it up, I think it will be much more stress-free. They did refuse me though despite my persistence, but I am supposed to get my choli material soon, so they may be thinking that my needs are not critical and hence stuck to their policy. They may relent with you…

    • Made a trip there today – my lehenga sample was away because they use it to stitch the actual lehenga, but my chunni was there – fawned over it!!
      And no, they don’t stitch blouses at all 😦

  4. Heyy! Congratulations!! its the best feeling in the world to get THE lehenga! something similar happened with me too.. The designer I went to helped me pick out the perfect lehenga, but since my mom was traveling I didnt finalize it and when I went back after 2 weeks (and this was in August and my wedding is in December!!) they told me i was too late! I almost started crying and told them that I was not going to leave them alone till they relent! (more so since half my outfits and my sister’s outfits for the wedding are from them) Now they’re giving it to me a week in advance!!!

    • I can’t believe they made such a fuss when they had like 4 months in hand!! Wow!! However, I find that a bit of coaxing goes a long way… I can just imagine you refusing to leave hahaha!! But you gotta do what you gotta do!! I hope the lehenga turns out better than your expectations 🙂

  5. Aumbre is not so far from Lajpat or GK. Huaz Khas Village is pretty close to these two areas! Alot of designers in Shahpur Jat too! Try’em definitely! Or else, Heritage in South ex is pretty darn awesome!

    • Im on the fence on coming to India only for shopping. If you plan on buying a lot of outfits, then it makes sense; but if you’re only planning on buying your event outfits, it may not. The cost of plane tickets and ur stay do factor in too.
      However, if that is not an issue, then I recommend shopping in India. Not only is it super fun( memorable experience) but you also do get the latest in trends 🙂

      Met a girl from Alberta when I was in Om Prakash- made me smile!

  6. also OPJL.. what kind of lengha styles do they have.. I don’t want the typical crystals that are vomited onto a lengha (sorry so descriptive… but i hate the crazyyyy crystals))… im looking for more set patterns.. simple and elegant

    • I saw some lehengas like the ones you describe there – but that is because many people demand that. I also found a huge selection of the more designer inspired pieces. You can also use your own creativity there – they do cater to making new designs.

  7. It’s great to think about wedding outfit what we are going to wear on their wedding. It’s really a big task. Because every one like to make it rememorable. And i think indian outfits are best outfits for this special life occasion like sarees and lehengas which are in high demand nowadays.

  8. Hey,

    I have been reading your blog for the past few days and it has been very helpful. I am from Canada, visiting Delhi, and OPJI have informed me that my wedding lengha will not be ready before I leave. Can I trust them to deliver it to me in Canada? Any suggests and/or advice would be greatly appreciated!

    • Hi Joy,
      Im sorry I had been away from the blog for a while and just saw your message. I have not heard of any horror stories from OPJL and know that people have received their deliveries on time. It’s probably all settled for you by now – have you received your lehenga?

  9. Hi, I’m coming to Delhi this week for 10 days of wedding shopping and I was going to hit Omprakash first since it comes so highly recommended. I have a picture of a designer wedding lengths, hoping tat they can duplicate it.. What are up thoughts?

    • They made a lot of adjustments to the lehenga I chose in terms of design – they told me very clearly that I can make all the changes I want and that I can even make up whatever design I want – I say talk to them, they should be able to do it. They have a very skilled crew. Your lehenga will have to be sent to you though.

Leave a Reply

