…And Here We Go!

I have been missing from the blog these last couple of weeks. That is because I had been going crazy at work trying to finish up my projects – I was working longer hours AND weekends! I had just enough energy to come home and collapse on my bed. However, the trade-off is that I get 7 weeks vacation, so no complaints.

I leave tomorrow for Delhi 🙂

Good old Delhi – how I missed you! I’ll be landing there after four whole years so it will be quite a change for sure.

When I had started this blog, it was with the intention of preserving snapshots of my state of mind, and so I really wanted to jot down what is going on in my head as I embark on the greatest adventure of my life.

In the stress of packing and shopping, I find myself going through weird emotions. At work, I would forget for a minute that I am getting married – I would suddenly remember and there would be butterflies in my tummy. I’m happy as a lark, and as sad as… well, as a bride leaving her home. Throw in excitement and apprehension as well – it’s a heady cocktail, and I feel like I’m high ALL the time!

I spent some time trying to describe what I am feeling at this time. I had a nagging feeling that I have actually experienced this feeling before (which is weird because I have obviously not gotten married before!), but then it came to me. It’s the EXACT same feeling as….

Image

You know that 2 second gap between when the roller coaster has reached its’ height and when it actually starts to ‘fall’? There is always an agonizingly slow ascent, where your tummy clenches and clenches, and the adrenaline readies itself.  Finally, you are right at the top, looking down. The view is awesome, but you cannot take your eyes off the sheer drop. Your stomach has tied itself into knots, you’re feeling sick, yet excited, yet terrified. You try and brace yourself for the rush you know is coming, for the adrenaline to hit, and for the ride to “really” begin.

That is exactly, exactly what I am feeling now, albeit ten fold magnified. I feel like I am a bundle of bristling nerves and energy. A is already in Delhi, so he gets to hear me go through this on the phone, and I have him puzzled as well. One minute we’re excitedly discussing our honeymoon, our dance performance, our new home, the other I am crying because I’ll miss my family. Poor thing gets the task of juggling between lover and best friend, but he’s doing a fab job (If you’re reading this, you really are :))

I think this will be the last of these mixed emotions. Once in Delhi, I won’t even have time to think – it will be that busy. We have a long list of weddings and parties to attend apart from our own, and I am looking forward to all of that.

Just hope that OUR wedding is pulled off amazingly– this is going to be wedding prep on steroids!

And so I’m almost packed and ready to go. We fly tomorrow – I also leave this home tomorrow (sobering thought), but still- the romance of a lifetime awaits, and I walk into strong and capable arms.

Let the roller coaster drop now! :p

7 thoughts on “…And Here We Go!

  1. All the very best …I hope you get the adrenalin rush of a lifetime 🙂 yet another beautifully written post which communicates the emotions so well… And welcome to Delhi!

  2. Woohoo! Delhi time!!! 🙂 And awwww for the “walk into strong & capable arms”! I hope you’ll find time to blog atleast a BIT between all the shopping? Send me a mail with ANY questions, at ANY time…I’ll always trying giving my two cents on it 🙂 Oh, of course…the offer stands for next 11 days, because after that I might not even know the location of my phone!

    • Awww thanks sooo much!! I probably will ask u stuff. in fact im def checking out the south ex shop u mentioned. Im going to try and blog all the way through, even if its a short one- the whole point of it was to serve as a way to remember the small stuff we usually forget. Lets see how it goes. Thanks again and all the very best to u- its getting close now!

  3. welcome to delhi!!!!!

    you know we are all there to help you out incase you reach a road block!!

    can understand your feelings completely, going through the same ‘fixed’ feeling phase!

    the madness is about to begin!!!

Leave a Reply

